Sign In
  • عربي
  • Contact Us
  • Sitemap
  • FAQs

Contact CEO

Saif Mohammed Al Ghais PhD.jpg

Saif Mohammed Al Ghais, Ph. D. – Associate Professor of Marine Biology (Environmental Science). He acquired B.Sc. degree in Biological Sciences from Seattle Pacific University, USA and Ph.D. degree in Marine Biology from the University of Liverpool, UK and thereafter has been associated with the teaching and research programs of the UAE University in biological and environmental sciences as a teaching staff member of Biology Department and the Head of Marine Environment Research Section. He was leading the Environmental Research and Wildlife Development Agency of Abu Dhabi in the United Arab Emirates (UAE) as its Secretary General from 1996 – 2001.


Dr. Al Ghais is a marine biologist dedicated to the cause of environment conservation and sustainable management of natural resources in the country.

He is well known for his contributions to some pioneer projects in the UAE such as characterization and compilation of fish species inhabiting the UAE waters, the rehabilitation and conservation of mangrove ecosystem, the conservation of sea turtles and dugong and the impact assessment of environmental pollution. He was awarded research grants by the Shell companies in the UAE to support mangroves and sea turtles conservation projects. The first comprehensive and systematic study of nesting and behavior, feeding grounds, breeding and life cycle and ecology of marine turtles undertaken by Dr. Al Ghais and associates in the UAE is valuable for an understanding of their status, biology, distribution and conservation, which is of international importance because these endangered species are migratory in nature and five of the seven recognized species of marine turtles visit the UAE coastal waters.

Dr. Al Ghais has been also contributing to the environmental protection and management efforts of other government and non-government organizations on the national and international level.

Dr. Al Ghais has published more than 28 research papers in reputed international journals, participated in more than 42 meeting and conferences (25 professional presentations ) and secured the prestigious life membership of a number of renowned scientific societies of the world such as The American Fisheries Society, The Fisheries Society of the British Isles, International Center for Living Aquatic Resources Management and The Estuarine and Coastal Science Association and as documents editors / Journal of International Wildlife Law and Policy. He has been invited by the National Marine Fisheries Service, Southwest Fisheries Center Honolulu Laboratory and Battelle Pacific Northwest Laboratory at Sequim, Washington to undertake collaborative research programs in marine sciences. He was on a Fulbright Scholarship at Western Washington University in Washington State from September 2000 until October 2001. Currently he is the Vice-Chair for Western Indian Ocean IUCN/SSC Marine Turtle Specialist Group, and Adjunct Professor at Western Washington University.


​Contact CEO​

STAY UP TO DATE

Download Newsletter

Sign up for Newsletter:

OTHER LINKS

FOLLOW US

Location Map

map

This website is managed by EPDA Department
Total Visitors: 378884
Site last updated: 18/07/2019 Best viewed in 1366x768 resolution

تسجيل الدخول
  • English
  • اتصل بنا
  • خريطة الموقع
  • الأسئلة المتكررة

تواصل مع المدير التنفيذي


الدكتور سيف محمد الغيص – أستاذ مساعد في البيولوجيا البحرية (العلوم البيئية). نال شهادة بكالوريوس العلوم البيولوجية من جامعة سياتل في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية، ودرجة الدكتوراه من جامعة ليفربول البريطانية، مُلتحقاً إثر تخرجه بالعمل في جامعة الإمارات في برامج التعليم والأبحاث في مجال الأحياء البحرية والعلوم البيئية كعضو هيئة التدريس في قسم البيولوجيا ورئيس قسم بحوث البيئة البحرية. وقد قاد وكالة البحث البيئي وتنمية الحياة البرية في أبوظبي في دولة الإمارات كأمينها العام من 1996 إلى 2001.​

 

الدكتور الغيص هو عالم أحياء بحرية متفانٍ في حماية البيئة والإدارة المستدامة للموارد الطبيعية في الدولة. 

وهو معروف بمساهماته في العديد من المشاريع الرائدة في دولة الإمارات مثل توصيف وتصنيف أنواع الأسماك التي تعيش في مياه دولة الإمارات، وإصلاح وحماية النظام البيئي لأشجار المنجروف، بالإضافة إلى حماية السلاحف البحرية وحيوانات الأطوم (بقر البحر)، وتقييم تأثير التلوث البيئي. وقد حصل على منح بحثية عديدة من مجموعة شركات شِل في دولة الإمارات لدعم مشاريع حماية أشجار المنجروف والسلاحف البحرية. وأول دراسة شاملة ومنهجية قام بها الدكتور الغيص وزملاؤه حول بيئة السلاحف البحرية، وسلوكها وتعشيشها، ومناطق تغذيتها وتكاثرها ودورة حياتها في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة تُعد دراسةً قيّمة لفهم بيئة السلاحف، وبيولوجيتها، وتوزيعها الجغرافي وكيفية الحفاظ عليها، والتي هي ذات أهمية عالمية لأن هذه الأنواع المهددة بالانقراض تكون مهاجرة بطبيعتها، وخمسة من الأنواع السبعة المعروفة من السلاحف البحرية تزور المياه الساحلية لدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة.

 

كخبير ومستشار، ساهم الدكتور الغيص أيضاً في جهود حماية وإدارة البيئة التي تبذلها منظمات أخرى حكومية وغير حكومية على الصعيدين المحلي والعالمي. 

حيث نشر الدكتور الغيص أكثر من 28 ورقة بحث في مجلات عالمية معروفة، وشارك في أكثر من 42 اجتماع ومؤتمر (25 عرض مهني) وحصل على عضوية مرموقة دائمة في عدد من الجمعيات العالمية الشهيرة في مجال العلوم مثل الجمعية الأمريكية لمصايد الأسماك، جمعية مصايد الأسماك في الجزر البريطانية، المركز الدولي لإدارة الموارد المائية الحية وجمعية علوم المصبّات المائية والسواحل، بالإضافة إلى المجلات والدوريات مثل مجلة قانون الحياة البرية الدولي. وقد تمت دعوة الدكتور الغيص من قبل إدارة المصايد البحرية القومية، ومركز مصايد الأسماك الجنوب غربية - مختبر هونولولو، ومختبر باتيلي شمال غرب المحيط الهادئ في سيكيم في واشنطن، وذلك لتولي برامج أبحاث تعاونية في مجال العلوم البحرية. درس الغيص في جامعة واشنطن الغربية في ولاية واشنطن ضمن منحة فولبرايت من سبتمبر 2000 إلى أكتوبر 2001، ويشغل حالياً منصب نائب رئيس مجموعة متخصصي السلاحف البحرية في المحيط الهندي الغربي UCN/SSC، وأستاذ مساعد في جامعة واشنطن.  

 

تواصل مع المدير التنفيذي

ابقَ على اطلاع

تحميل النشرة الإخبارية

التسجيل للنشرة الإخبارية:

روابط أخرى

تابعنا

خريطة الموقع

map

جميع الحقوق محفوظة. الموقع الالكتروني بإدارة هيئة حماية البيئة و التنمية رأس الخيمة
عدد الزائرين: 378836
آخر تحديث للموقع: 18/07/2019 يفضل المشاهدة بدقة 1366x768