Sign In
  • عربي
  • Contact Us
  • Sitemap
  • FAQs

EPDA its partners in implementing the Ras Al Khaimah Plastic Free Initiative

02 June 2022

The Environment Protection and Development Authority called on its local partners supporting the implementation of the Ras Al Khaimah Plastic Free Initiative, represented by the Ras Al Khaimah Municipality Department, the Department of Economic Development, the Ras Al Khaimah Economic Zones Authority (Rakez), and the Tourism Development Authority to discuss the mechanism for implementing and implementing the initiative.

The authority works in accordance with the directions of the United Arab Emirates and its efforts to address the phenomenon of excessive consumption of plastic bags in the daily lives of members of society, and to reduce the effects of their use on the environment and living organisms. This initiative comes to support the goals and vision of the Government of Ras Al Khaimah under the rational guidance of His Highness Sheikh Saud bin Saqr Al Qasimi, Member of the Supreme Council of the Union and Ruler of Ras Al Khaimah, and with the close follow-up of His Highness Sheikh Mohammed bin Saud bin Saqr Al Qasimi, Crown Prince of Ras Al Khaimah, Chairman of the Executive Council.

The Director-General of the Environmental Protection and Development Authority, Dr. Saif Muhammad Al-Ghais, also presented the mechanism and stages of application, as the attendees agreed on the duration of the first stage, which is the period of imposing fees for single-use plastic bags and educating consumers about the need to reduce and stop using plastic bags, and after 6 months the total ban on their use will be implemented. And start violating the facilities provided by the dealers.

During the meeting, the pricing of plastic bags in the targeted sectors was discussed during the first phase of implementing the initiative, and all views of support and opposition from the attendees representing their sides were heard.

As the authority carried out, during the study stages of the implementation plan of the initiative in 2019, a survey targeting the owners of the supermarket and bakery sectors, which showed the support of 77.28% of the total of 261 supermarkets and bakeries for the initiative, which aims to replace non-biodegradable plastic bags with environmentally friendly alternatives. The number of bags reached Approximately 28 million plastic bags were used in these two activities in the Emirate of Ras Al Khaimah only during that period.

Al-Ghais stressed, "Preserving the environment and the sustainability of its resources has been a strategic priority for the UAE since its establishment. Thanks to the vision and directives of its wise leadership, the state has presented a pioneering model in efforts to protect the environment, preserve its natural resources and ensure the sustainability of its biodiversity. Today, our meeting with these local authorities comes to distribute roles Working as one to rid the Emirate of Ras Al Khaimah, its ecosystems and biodiversity, from the danger of single-use plastic bags

Al Ghais added, "The individual may not feel the danger of these bags and the effects they can cause on public health, and the deterioration of the marine and terrestrial environment, and by reducing and preventing these bags, a great burden and danger to the lives of living creatures, including humans, will be removed. This will also contribute to reducing the environmental footprint of the Emirate of Ras Al Khaimah and the state. In general, such initiatives and trends in the UAE and we affirm our continued commitment to support the efforts of the international community aimed at reducing the repercussions of climate change and the challenges it causes, as the country hosts the Conference of Parties “COP28” in 2023.”

STAY UP TO DATE

Download Newsletter

Sign up for Newsletter:

OTHER LINKS

FOLLOW US

Location Map

map

This website is managed by EPDA Department
Total Visitors :
1796275
Site last updated: 28/09/2022 Best viewed in 1366x768 resolution

تسجيل الدخول
  • English
  • اتصل بنا
  • خريطة الموقع
  • الأسئلة المتكررة

بيئة رأس الخيمة تلتقي شركاؤها في تنفيذ مبادرة رأس الخيمة خالية من البلاستيك

02 يونيو 2022

دعت هيئة حماية البيئة والتنمية شركاءها المحليين المساندين في تنفيذ مبادرة رأس الخيمة خالية من البلاستيك، المتمثلين في دائرة بلدية رأس الخيمة، ودائرة التنمية الاقتصادية، وهيئة مناطق رأس الخيمة الاقتصادية (راكز)، وهيئة تنمية السياحة لمناقشة آلية تنفيذ وتطبيق المبادرة.

حيث تعمل الهيئة وفق توجهات دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة وجهودها للتصدي لظاهرة الاستهلاك المفرط للأكياس البلاستيكية في الحياة اليومية لأفراد المجتمع، والحد من الآثار المترتبة من استعمالها على البيئة والكائنات الحية. اذ تأتي هذه المبادرة لدعم أهداف ورؤية حكومة رأس الخيمة بتوجيهات رشيدة من صاحب السمو الشيخ سعود بن صقر القاسمي عضو المجلس الأعلى للاتحاد حاكم رأس الخيمة، وبمتابعة حثيثة من سمو الشيخ محمد بن سعود بن صقر القاسمي ولي عهد رأس الخيمة، رئيس المجلس التنفيذي.

كما طرح المدير العام لهيئة حماية البيئة والتنمية الدكتور سيف محمد الغيص آلية ومراحل التطبيق حيث اجمع الحاضرين على مدة المرحلة الأولى والمتمثلة في فترة فرض رسوم الأكياس البلاستيكية ذات الاستخدام الواحد وتوعية المستهلكين بضرورة خفض والتوقف عن استخدام الأكياس البلاستيكية، ويتم بعد 6 أشهر تطبيق الحظر الكلي لاستخدامها وبدء مخالفة المنشآت التي تقوم بتقديمها المتعاملين.

حيث تم خلال الاجتماع مناقشة تسعير الاكياس البلاستيكية في القطاعات المستهدفة خلال المرحلة الاولى من تطبيق المبادرة والاستماع لجميع وجهات النظر المؤيدة والمعارضة من الحاضرين الممثلين لجهاتهم.

إذ أن الهيئة نفذت أثناء مراحل دراسة خطة تطبيق المبادرة في عام 2019، استطلاعاً استهدف أصحاب قطاعي السوبر ماركت والمخابز والذي أظهر تأييد 77.28% من مجموع 261 محل سوبر ماركت ومخابز للمبادرة التي تستهدف استبدال الأكياس البلاستيكية غير القابلة للتحلل ببدائل صديقة للبيئة، حيث بلغ عدد الأكياس المستخدمة في هذين النشاطين ما يقارب 28 مليون كيس بلاستيك في إمارة رأس الخيمة فقط في تلك الفترة.

وأكد الغيص " إن الحفاظ على البيئة واستدامة مواردها يشكل أولوية استراتيجية لدولة الإمارات منذ تأسيسها، وقد قدمت الدولة بفضل رؤية وتوجيهات قيادتها الرشيدة نموذجاً رائداً في جهود حماية البيئة والحفاظ على مواردها الطبيعية وضمان استدامة تنوعها البيولوجي، حيث يأتي اجتماعنا اليوم مع هذه الجهات المحلية لتوزيع الأدوار والعمل كيد واحدة لتخليص إمارة رأس الخيمة وأنظمتها البيئية وتنوعها البيولوجي من خطر الأكياس البلاستيكية ذات الاستخدام الواحد"

وأضاف الغيص " قد لا يستشعر الفرد خطورة هذه الأكياس وما يمكن أن تسببه من تأثيرات على الصحة العامة، وتدهور البيئة البحرية والبرية، وبتقليل ومنع هذه الأكياس يُزال عبء وخطر كبير يهدد حياة الكائنات الحية ومنها الانسان كما سيساهم ذلك في تقليل البصمة البيئية لإمارة رأس الخيمة وللدولة بشكل عام. كما أن مثل هذه المبادرات والتوجهات في دولة الإمارات ونؤكد على استمرار التزامنا بدعم جهود المجتمع الدولي الهادفة بهدف الحد من تداعيات تغير المناخ والتحديات التي يتسبب بها، كما يأتي ذلك تزامناً مع استضافة الدولة لمؤتمر الأطراف «COP28» في عام 2023 "

ابقَ على اطلاع

تحميل النشرة الإخبارية

التسجيل للنشرة الإخبارية:

روابط أخرى

تابعنا

خريطة الموقع

map

جميع الحقوق محفوظة. الموقع الالكتروني بإدارة هيئة حماية البيئة و التنمية رأس الخيمة
عدد الزائرين :
2279118
آخر تحديث للموقع: 12/04/2024 يفضل المشاهدة بدقة 1366x768